WHPRMS developed the Communications Review program in 1971 to recognize excellence and superior accomplishment in the practice of health care public relations and marketing. Communications Review was one of the first award programs of its kind in the country and today is widely recognized by health care communicators for its quality and credibility.


  • Category Awards: Top award in each category.
  • Carol Mehlberg Award: Awarded to the top overall entry.
  • Honorable Mentions: if applicable.

The Carol Mehlberg Award is chosen from the Judges’ Choice Awards. It most effectively demonstrates thorough planning, execution and results, as well as creativity and innovation. The award is named in honor of Carol Mehlberg, a WHPRMS member who was instrumental in establishing the Communications program and strengthening the organization. Mehlberg passed away in 1977, after a courageous battle with cancer.

This award program is open to all members and offers multiple benefits including:
· A panel of unbiased judges from the field of healthcare marketing and communications provide a
written critique and feedback on each entry.
· Award winners are recognized during a formal presentation at the WHPRMS Annual Conference.
· Letters of recognition are sent to the CEO of each winning organization.

If you need duplicate awards, please use this order form: CRDuplicateAwards.

2022 Winners:

The two award categories were Single-Channel/Asset Campaign and Multi-Channel/Asset Campaign. You can see a recap of all the 2022 entries here.

Single-channel Award:

The top single-channel entry was submitted by Steph Graham of Froedtert Hospital in Milwaukee. Her entry, Faces of Froedtert Video Series, was created to build stronger bonds among staff by showing the “whole person” in staff profile videos. Here are a few examples from Froedtert’s winning entry:

The result? “We have more and more employees reaching out to us with ideas of colleagues to feature—which was the ultimate goal!”
Congratulations to Steph and the Froedtert Hospital Internal Communications Team! 


Multi-channel Award + Carol Mehlberg Award:

The top multi-channel entry is from Kathy Behnke of Mile Bluff Medical Center in Mauston. 

Experience Mile Bluff – OB was the highest-scoring overall entry and is the winner of the Carol Mehlberg Award! The project team included Kathy, Katie Nuttall and Amperage Marketing. The Experience Mile Bluff – OB campaign encouraged area residents to deliver their babies locally. You can see examples of the creative work here. This is the campaign landing page.

The results? “We increased our deliveries by 14.9% over the previous year and delivered 154 babies—more than our five-year average!”Congratulations to Kathy and the Mile Bluff Medical Center Public Relations Team! 


Past Carol Mehlberg Award winners:

2022 Kathy Behnke, “Experience Mile Bluff – OB” Multi-Chanel Category, Mile Bluff Medical Center

2021 No award program

2020 No Conference – Covid

2019 Katie Nuttall and Kathy Behnke, “My Mile Bluff Story” Video Production, Mile Bluff Medical Center

2018 Meagan Hardwick, “Fox Valley Hematology & Oncology Valentine’s Day Story” Media Relations, Red Shoes PR

2017 Kathy Schultz and the 50th Anniversary Committee, “50th Anniversary Reunion” Special Events, UW Health

2016 Mike Wiltse, “Impact” Internal Publication, Journey Mental Health Center

2015 Corissa Runde, Jennifer Walker, John Maniaci, Wendy Hathaway, Angie Fadness, Social Media, American Family Children’s Hospital Radiothon, UW Health

2014 Stacy Lenzen, Gretchen VanDusartz, Pat Cooksey, Christiansen Creative, Social Media, “Say Ahh” ENT Clinic Promoted Post, Hudson Hospital & Clinic

2013 Haley Gilman Integrated Marketing Campaign Local Surgery is Better – Campaign Divine Savior Healthcare 6AM Marketing

2012 Gail Lobdell, Kelly Cheramy, Carolyn Hargrove, Janet Adams “St. Mary’s Centennial History Wall” St. Mary’s Hospital

2011 Bridget Thomas “A Lifetime of Health” Direct Mail Fort HealthCare

2010 Tim Doerfler, Tammy Hahn and the Patient Satisfaction Task Force Super Bowl of Patient Satisfaction Employee Communications Projects St. Mary’s Hospital

2009 Sara Silver-Traband & Stephanie Hungerford “West Tower Media Project” Media Relations – Proactive Children’s Hospital of Wisconsin

2008 James Shulkin “Caring for Lives Campaign” Fort HealthCare

2007 Heidi Lange “Many Faces” Wheaton Franciscan Healthcare

2006 Stacey Mueller “Children’s Connection” Children’s Hospital of Wisconsin

2005 James Reck “ER Snack Baskets” St. Vincent Hospital

2004 Meriter Marketing “Meriter Chest Pain Center” Meriter Health Services

2003 St. Mary’s Hospital Medical Center Memory Loss Integrated Marketing Campaign

2002 Annette Grunseth “Someone Believes in You” Bellin Health

2001 Marna Holley “The Right Care Right Here Campaign” Gundersen Lutheran

2000 Susen Rasmussen “Gamma Knife Introductory Campaign” Aurora Health Care